How do I lock commission records so that invoices don't get paid twice?

EthoTech Admin -

Article ID: KB0049

Execute the Process Commissions routine.

When commissions are processed for a salesperson, the following actions occur:

  • The salesperson’s commissions are marked Processed and are no longer editable.
  • A salesperson commission run summary record is created for the salesperson’s total commission amount.
  • The salesperson’s total commission amount is added to the total commission run summary record.
  • If the salesperson is set up to create GL, Payables, or Payroll transactions and the salesperson’s total commission amount is not zero, an unposted transaction for the salesperson’s total commission amount is created in the appropriate batch:
    • GL - an unposted general journal entry is created for the salesperson's total commission amount, using the salesperson's GL accounts.
    • Payables - an unposted voucher is created for the vendor assigned to the salesperson, for the salesperson's total commission amount, using the salesperson's GL accounts. An invoice is created if the total is greater than zero ($0); otherwise, a credit memo is created.
    • Payroll - an unposted transaction is created for the employee assigned to the salesperson, for the salesperson's total commission amount, using the salesperson's payroll code, and un unposted general journal entry is created for the salesperson's total commission amount, using the salesperson's GL accounts.
  • The salesperson’s processed commission records will be updated with the Date Commission Paid entered on the Process Commissions window. Any Dynamics GP transaction created during commission processing will use this date as the document date. 

Upon execution of the Process Commissions routine, a processing run summary report, a salesperson processing run summary report, and a list of the processed commission documents will be generated. Once commissions are processed, they are no longer editable in the Commission Plan Entry window. 

Please NOTE: The Process Commissions step cannot be undone, so make sure all commissions are correct and a database backup has been performed prior to processing.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk